Solstice Arts Centre Logo
Theatre & Events

ConTempo Quartet

The ConTempo Quartet, resident ensemble of the Galway Music Residency and Ireland’s longest established quartet, opens the Autumn 2022 season with two Irish string quartets, Ina Boyle’s lovely E minor Quartet, written in Enniskerry in 1934, and a new piece by Galway’s Jane O’Leary. Brahms’ sunny, uplifting B flat major quartet was written in 1875 while he enjoyed a summer holiday in the beautiful German town of Ziegelhausen and it was to become his favourite of his three published quartets.

The Contempo Quartet is the resident quartet of the Galway Music Residency and was RTE’s Resident Quartet from 2014 until 2019. Praised as a “fabulous foursome” (Irish Independent) and noted for performances which are “exceptional” (The Strad) and “full of imaginative daring” (The Irish Times), RTÉ ConTempo Quartet has forged a unique place in Irish musical life.

Supported by

View all Theatre & Events